Let me preface by saying the following: Nothing makes me angrier--well I probably shouldn't say nothing but one of the things that make me ANGRY is when people are late; Especially rude people!
This morning I was set to do crazy lady's exam. Oh wait, I probably should explain the name. So I went back to school as you all can probably tell by now and I swear one of my professors is out to get me. There is no other explanations for it. We're taking this class which will remain nameless for obvious reasons and the woman is the teacher from hell. She doesn't really teach as read from the book, gives us examples from the eighteen hundreds that we cannot use. Then when test time rolls around, there is about five to six chapters, fifteen questions worth one hundred and fifty marks...yes, you heard right ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY! As in 150...as in...well you get the picture....So after a whole bunch of students from both her sections failed or were close to failing, a bunch of them dropped the class and others wrote a letter to our department complaining about her.
I wasn't failing but I was not pleased. Anyways, I figure, live and let live. I was going to do her class, get my C and get it over with. Then after our second test, she was taking up the answers in class and I read my answer and saw that what she said was precisely what I wrote to answer to the question, only she wanted us to write more. I was furious. I answered what she asked and she wanted us to read her mind, know exactly what else to add and add it. I put my hand up and state quite emphatically, that I couldn't read her mind and if she wanted us to write all of that she should have asked up to write all of that. I told her she needs to be more precise in her questions if she wants an long, drag out answers with additions that she never asked for.
She looked at me, her eyes kind of glazed over before she walked away. Other students were like "no. you can't walk away, she is trying to get something clear," so now she walks back and started to argue with me me. I blinked at her with a blank stare and explain to her that I didn't want an argument and if she couldn't understand what I was trying to do or say I'll go to my department head and perhaps they'll be able to help me. So I left and went to see my department head.
Anyways, long story short, I had to do my exam early because of the thing to Cuba and after I had to let my Cuba adviser talk to her because she refused to accommodate me, I finally got today, at 8:30 to do my exam. So I spent the last few days freaking out, ripping out my hair and just breaking out into cold sweats because of this damn exam. Finally, this morning arrived and I got to school at 8AM, stopped for a snack because I needed the sugar then reached the assigned room for 8:15AM.
No one's there.
What in the hell?
I sat down, read over my HORDE of notes a few times then looked up at the clock.
Still no one.
A few teachers went in and out of the office but the lady I was waiting for hadn't gotten there yet. Finally two other students in the same boat as me for different classes arrived, we chatted for a bit.
Still no one.
Finally, I stopped one of the female professors and asked if she knew what was happening. What a surprise? She had no clue. She told us to wait a bit longer. By this time it was almost 9AM so I'd been waiting for close to forty five minutes. At around 9:05AM this woman walked into the office and by us. She headed into the back so I figured she was just another professor coming and going. Eventually she came back at about 9:10 and asked if we were being helped.
I was furious by now.
I told her no and that I was supposed to have started my exam half an hour ago. She asked who I was and who my teacher was and went into the back again. When she came back, it was with a folder and told me to meet her down a corridor by a door so she can lead me to the exam room.
FINALLY
I got to do my exam. One more down, one to go.
But what struck me as inconsiderate and inexcusable about this was, she was half an hour late and she never once said she was sorry for the inconvenience. She walked in as if nothing in the world was wrong.
What am I trying to say? In today's day and age of technology--texts, emails, phones, cell phones all that jazz, there is no excuse to be late and not inform someone. None what-so-ever. And if I am making an effort to be there on time like I'm supposed to, the least you can do is say you're sorry for being late. It's just common--honest to goodness--courtesy. My friends know if they are more than 15 minutes late to meet me somewhere and they don't call or text to let me know they're coming I go home. Make an effort to be a good person. If you're going to be late, tell someone and if you can't, apologize because there were tons of shit I could have been doing in that wasted half an hour.
so a stressful day calls for a nice breakfast...well its not breakfast since its like 2:30PM EST now but oh well...
Love,
Kato