Photobucket

Monday, April 12, 2010

Hey all, so finally I've gotten around to something I've always wanted to try my hands at....DRAWING MANGA!!Sure I suck at it but at least I am putting my foot out there...So this first one here is of some guy's face.  I am learning from Manga U so am hoping I'm doing ok with it.  You will never believe how hard this is to draw! I've been drying for hours and finally I manage something that look like a face! YAY ME! The eyes aren't right still but at least it looks like someone's face and not just some bloody scratches.  I am gonna keep at th eyes until I get them looking a little bit better.  But these pics are from my sketch pad so they might be a tad fuzzy. Let me know what you guys think of my drawings for an absolute beginning when it comes to this kind of thing.

I've always wanted to try it. I mean I bought the sketch pad like three months ago. Why I didnt start then was beyond me. Anyways, I went to this website and it is showing how to draw them step by step, get a feel for it. I'll never be perfectly good but who knows? At least I am learning something new and it's challenging. When my writing gets to a stand still like it seem to be doing a lot lately, I'll just pick up my sketch pad and doodle a little. But th eyes are the hardest parts to draw! OMG! This one righ there is of a happy face. Th emouth didn't come out to right and the eyes are different size but I got the emotion right. The nose is 'perfect apparently but everything else is a tad off. 

I am so happy right now! I actually accomplished something I set my ind out to do!! This year is going to be a good year for me! Ijust know it! This was on my resolution list from last year and I am finally getting around to it.
So this next guy is supposed to be pissed off.  The eye brows need a little bit of help but other than that I say I got the eyes a little bit better and the nose is right.  I was trying to draw a head around his facial features but so far can't seem to get the chin right. But for a first try this isn't bad.  I kept forgetting how to draw the mouth or shading in the wrong area but I finally managed to get it out and on paper.

The shading is a tad rough and hard but I guess it's to be expected. I am not using the pencil they said I should *shhh* *grins* but I guess once I keep practising it'll get better. The next pic is of some guy being all stubborn--but I kinda sorta messed up the eyes.  Couldn't draw them properly--keep getting the wrong shapes to them and shading so after a bit I gave up.  I think I got the eye brows right along with the nose, mouth and kinda the chin.. .And then last but not least, the frowning guy.  I haven't gotten a chance to try my hand at the smirking guy yet, but I will at some point. Ok the frowning guy was the second easiest one to draw (followed by the angry guy). His eyes aren't perfect but everything else looks right. I think I drew his lips kinda too long but all in all a good attempt I think!

I am so proud of myself. Look at me go! After the weekend I've had I am glad to just chill and have some drawing fun. My body is exhausted because I had so little sleep this weekend. I am still trying to catch up on sleep. Now after I've tired myself out with my attempt at drawing manga, I must now proceed to watch The Mummy. I could use a good laugh you know?

Anyways, I'm going to add a video to this blog. It's one of my newest favorite songs called "Shakin it 4 Daddy" by Robin Thicke featuring Nicki Minaj! I LOVE this song. So it's not the official video because they don't have one yet, but enjoy the video anyways. And if you wanna get down with your bad-self, turn off the lights, climb on the bed and dirty dance to the beat of this tune! I absolutely recommend it!


Anyways, Hugs,
Lady Falcon - Kato Under Construction

Sunday, April 4, 2010

Movies - What I just Realised

So the other day I started watching at least one movie a night. Why you ask? Well because lately I haven't been giving myself time to breathe. I would go to classes, come home stressed and go to bed--then I'd have nightmares that terrifies the crap out of me. So anyways, I re watched a few classics like UNDER SIEGE (When Steven Segal was pretty good for an actor), Commando (of course! With Arnold), Rambo: First Blood and a few others. Movies I used to watch when I was a kid. Then I decided, well, since I enjoyed those so much, let me try something else. So I re watched The Mummy (*purrs* Brendan Fraiser), The Hangover (classic--they just don't know it yet) and the list goes on and on. 

The other day I decided, let me go WAY out of my box. You know sometimes when you go to the video store, or the movie theatre and you stand there looking up at that huge sign that tells you what movies are playing and what time and you see that one movie that stands out to you that you know is gonna suck but you decide to go see it anyways? Well, that is how I feel after watching A DANGEROUS MAN and UNDER SIEGE 2 with Steven Segal.  But in my defence, UNDER SIEGE one kicked ass! *runs around room doing karate chops and making machine gun sounds* So I figured, UNDER SIEGE 2 can't be that bad--right? Right? Other than the fact that I, a movie buff, who worked in a video store for years never heard of it--it can't be that bad--right? WRONG! OMFG! This movie was horrible. Bad acting, bad acting, BAD ACTING! The only thing that made this movie tolerable was a young Morris Chestnut...and that's barely!

I mean dude, because you were on a ship the first time doesn't mean you must go to a train next! WTF!? Well at least they didn't do a bus (Speed reference there...if you didn't hate Speed 2 like I do you won't get that one).

So onward to A DANGEROUS MAN with the same actor. At the end I sat there, blinking, thinking "WHY! WHY!!!!" Halfway through the movie Steven is in a sex scene with this chick who was supposedly his movie wife but she betrayed him after he went to jail for a crime he didn't commit--*breathes* Steven Seagal in a sex scene...say it with me....ewwwww!

 I swear, Steven Seagal should really STOP making movies. This movie is slow with horrible acting and half the time he's sitting down. Then to make things even more disturbing **SPOILER ALERT** (though I don't know why you'd even go waste an hour and a half of your life after I told you this movie blows big baby chunks) he ended up with a young girlfriend who--is young enough to be his daughter in real life! How sick is that?

So here's what the movie is about...k? Steven Seagal, ex military (of course) gets arrested and convicted for killing some guy who attacked his wife. Sure, he was wrongfully convicted and spent six years in prison. While he was there, his wife decided that she wanted out so she sent him a dear john letter in prison.  (Notice how they are no longer married and there was no divorce paper signed or anything). So right after that, new evidence turns up he gets released. The same night he's released, he witnesses a crime, helped a guy out, broke a few necks, blew up a few cars blah blah blah. The guy he helps out just had to be the son of a Russian mob boss and now the Mob boss owes good ole Stevie a favor.  Sounds like a good movie, right?

But anyways here's what got me about this movie--The movie had WAY too many bad guys. The Russian Mob, The Chinese Triad and Dirty cops--wait no...I think the Russian mob became the good guys at the end--wait, no...the Chinese Triad became the--see my point? At the end everyone was shooting at everyone and we had no idea what in the hell was going on. Bombs, neck breaking, stabbings, gun shot to the head--it was all a bloody confusing mess.  This movie blows baby chunks...wait that's putting it too nicely...what's worse than saying "this movie sucks"? Erm, this movie tanked, sucked, stunk up the joint, rated worse than the Rotten tomatoe website can give it---ok I'll stop...

Now here's what I think--most of us go to the movies or where ever we watch our movies and we go in with an expectation. But we should know better than that when certain people (Steven Seagal) is in the movie we should prepare for the worse.  I am tired of hearing people saying, that they wanted their money back because they thought a movie was going to be so awesome but it end up tanking.  OK for example THE CONDEMNED with Stone Cold Steve Austin.   This movie got very little credit. The movie wasn't the best movie ever made but going in I know that it wont be good for it's breath-taking dialogue or it's romanticism of the Convict culture. I expected the acting to be lacking and shit to go wrong.

But the thing is, Stone Cold held his own--he did. I was actually quite proud. He kicked some ass and took some names, but emotion when needed was all over his face.  Sure he wouldn't win an oscar, but the guy held his weight. That movie was way better than UNDER SIEGE 2 or A DANGEROUS MAN. What does that tell you?

Going into this movie, I wanted to just let off some steam after a hella long day. I didn't want complications or drama--hell I didn't want to think. But I enjoyed this movie because I wanted to be entertained---I wanted to see a sexy stud like Stone Cold (purrs) to be put in a situation that he had to fight his way out and return to his lady love all bruised and want nothing more than to fall into her arms and stay there forever. I wanted a strong silent hero--a hero that just doesn't take crap from anyone.  I wanted a hero that isn't afraid to snap a few necks but has a heart of gold. I wanted dirty CIA agents, and Cops who are willing to fight for what's right. I wanted cute, cuddly little boys that play football with each other in the front yard. I wanted corny lines to make me laugh. I wanted stuff to blow up, people to fall off cliffs, guns to go a'blazing, Japanese Karate sexy stud that turned out to be one of the worse bad guys EVER! I wanted crimminals that all they wanted was to find their way to each other again and the bad guy to get their come-uppance-es. I got that.

I got all that--what does that mean? I was thoroughly entertained.  Which means I am going to search for Stone Cold's movie DAMAGE and watch it right after watching episodes of NASH BRIDGES that he was on....ahhh good times...

I think it's time we stop putting these actors on a pedastal so they can disappoint us when they really suck in a movie. Take a movie for what it is due to who is in it. Don't go in looking for some highly complicated story line if it's a movie created by WWE Films. Expect raw violence and heads being cracked open.  If a movie stars a wrestler, chances are it's going to tank if you go in expecting some intellectual enlightenment. That's all am saying.

Anyways,
Past this falcon's bed time.

Kato Under Construction