Hiya guys,
So it's 2009 and I know this is a tad late but happy new year! lol. I am in university....STILL...it's kicking my ass...STILL but you know what, I am happy I am in school right now with how bad the Economy is. There are NO jobs out there which sucks because I am getting ready to head home to go job hunting. I started but so far no luck. It sucks. So the United States has its first Black president - I say step in the right direction but this blog isn't about that. This Blog is about baseball!
So there is this thing called The World Baseball Classic - and this is when about 16 countries from around the world come together in the United States, Japan and Canada, and play each other for the bragging rights to say they are the best in the world. This is the first year I've actually paid attention but they used their major league players as well. So this year there was Venezuela, Japan, Korea, Canada, USA, Cuba, Austrailia, South Africa, Puerto Rico, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Russia, China, Taipei, Dominican Republic and Panama - they are trying to bring the world together with baseball. Great idea, great job. But the thing I don't get is this.
Why is it that the USA and Venezuelan teams act like such jerks? One of the Venezuelan players in practise, hit a ball out of Dodger's stadium then had the gall to call to the Korean team and tell them that there's more to come. Why would you do that? You see, I hate show-offs, I really do and if you are representing your county why in the hell do you do that? What's it gonna accomplish? The USA team acted like their shit dont stink and that they were better than the Asian teams and that gets my goat ALL the time. So you lost, big deal, you lost to a superb team - a team that has perfect pitching, hitting, catching, backing up each other, LOYALTY you JERKS!
The news is Korea lost to the USA but Korea wasn't kicked out of the WBC! oh no...see after Korea lost the USA - the USA team went on to play Japan.Karma is a bitch. I keep saying that and people keep ignoring me! USA went to play Japan, Japan beat them 10-2 and sent their asses home. Korea beat Venezuela and sent them home.
Now where the classy comes in Korea won their game against Venezuela and the beautiful thing about it is that the whole Korean team, lined up on the field, removed their hats and bowed to their fans! The American team would NEVER have done that - EVER!
The final game was between Korea and Japan and at the beginning, the two teams met on the field and exchanged hats, shook hands and bow! That is class! That is is CLASS! Every time these men get on the field, they have this smile on their faces. You can tell that they are so happy to be playing - so proud to be playing. These men you can tell that they WANT to be there and to be catching and throwing and pitching! Why don't you see that in the faces of the American/Canadian team members faces? Why don't they smile anymore? Or shake hands with their opponent? Is it the money? It couldnt be the money because some of the players from the Asian teams (Especially the Japan team) are also major league players but the Asian teams are just so happy to be playing the game. They genuinely LOVE the game....
All I'm saying is that Team Korea and Team Japan showed the world, that baseball can be fun, competitive and civil. Our western teams, need to learn from them. They need to watch these Asian teams and take a page fromt their books because if our teams can't get alone when competing against each other, they have a snowball's chance in hell of making it work when they have to work together against the world.
That's all I'm saying. Oh and Blue Jays, I hope you guys were paying attention to Japan's pitching - you don't dump your pitcher because he had a bad inning! PS...Japan beat Korea 5-3, So it goes, Japan in first, Korea in Second. (giggles) I bet the USA team would be PISSED because they got out pitched my a 21 year old! Its so saweet!
OMEDETO NIHON-JIN!
My name's a link.
Lady Falcon