Here are my King Julien stuff....
Tuesday, June 19, 2012
A bucket list
So I was looking for pictures to make more cute King Julian things and I came across this blog with a bucket list on it. What a bucket list is, a list of things to do before you die. I'm no good a lists so I'm debating whether or not I want to add one to this blog....must decide...
Sunday, June 17, 2012
Happy Birthday to meeeeeee!
Ok so today is my birthday and what am I doing with it? Spending it at work torturing myself....Happy Birthday to me indeed...It's a LONG and just irritating story as to why, but I never wanted to spend the DAY OF MY FRIGGING BIRTH in this dump....I really didn't..
Oh on a completely unrelated note...HAPPY FATHER'S DAY to all you fathers out there....
Hugs,
Kato
Oh on a completely unrelated note...HAPPY FATHER'S DAY to all you fathers out there....
Hugs,
Kato
Wednesday, June 13, 2012
Sir Stanley is in the KING-dom
Woohooo!!! The L.A Kings has captured SIR STANLEY!!! I know, I know, I do love my some Marty from the Devils but I can't STAND that team...I know, I am holding a grudge but still! Congratulations to the L.A Kings!!!
Sunday, May 20, 2012
Junsu is the SHIZ!!!
Ladies and gents, I give you, JUNSU! A member of Dong Bang Shin Ki or DBSK, a South Korean pop band. Yes, he IS a MAN - 27 years old.So the other day I was fussing about my friend's Facebook wall and came across the video! It's so cool I've bought it and put it on my ipad and I RARELY buy videos off iTunes. I mean what's the point? It's free on youtube. But I LOVE watching it on the bus and watching people's face as they look at it then at me and thing "Why is she watching some gay guy dance?" He's NOT gay. He's just really tiny so he dances to fit his body type--because let's face it, JUNSU is NOT Gangsta!
Then it dawned on me...why do people automatically assume someone who looks like JUNSU is gay? In places like China and South Korea and Japan dressing the way he does is perfectly normal and manly. There's nothing wrong with it. To me he looks more like an anime character than gay. But I guess I see the person and the culture and through eyes with an open mind than with some idiotic stereotype.
Monday, May 14, 2012
Cuba Pt. 2 - BASEBALL!!!! yes, you read right!
So we were driving between Varadero and Mantanzas and I saw a baseball diamond. So I flailed, squealed and pointed. Ron, by this time must have gotten used to my foreign way of speaking when I'm excited because he turned and asked our driver and then our teachers if we could see a game. Once they agreed, he now had to go through the schedule and see if we could squeeze it in.
Happily we could but now it becomes an issue of who wanted to go and who didn't. When he asked who wanted in, I rose my hand high, waved it around just to make sure he saw it. Why was I so excited to go to a baseball game? It's a baseball game in CUBA....a country who has made some of the best baseball players in the world--well aside from Venezuela and most recently Japan and South Korea--but come on! It's a baseball game IN CUBA!!! The stick in the mud had this look on her face that told me she didn't want to go just because it was something I wanted to do but I didn't care.
Off we went! To a playoff game between the Mantanzas Crocs and the Santos Spiritus Chickens--I think--I am not sure...LONG story...
Happily we could but now it becomes an issue of who wanted to go and who didn't. When he asked who wanted in, I rose my hand high, waved it around just to make sure he saw it. Why was I so excited to go to a baseball game? It's a baseball game in CUBA....a country who has made some of the best baseball players in the world--well aside from Venezuela and most recently Japan and South Korea--but come on! It's a baseball game IN CUBA!!! The stick in the mud had this look on her face that told me she didn't want to go just because it was something I wanted to do but I didn't care.
Off we went! To a playoff game between the Mantanzas Crocs and the Santos Spiritus Chickens--I think--I am not sure...LONG story...
So we're at the game, and even though some were pouting and just sitting there, I was taking pictures, videos, cheering, doing the wave and taking it all in. It was amazing! The teams never once got into a fight or argued with the umpire-even though I think he was a clown because he called some bad plays against my Crocs--but it was a good game. All the fans from both teams got along, they cheered, hold up their signs, waved at the cameras...But what was REALLY just amazing? It was a family affair. There were people of all ages there. It was a thing families were doing together like it should be.
Cuba Pt. 1
I'm back!! I survived the plane rides and the heat and came back! This trip was off the chain! I couldn't stop buzzing. My mom must be like "ugh! Stop already!"
But *flails* ok let's start at the beginning. My parents woke me up at 5AM to get to the airport. I didn't have to be there till 7AM. The kicker? We didn't get to leave the house until 6AM--we were supposed to leave at 5:30AM. We finally found each other and went into the line to check in. Then one of our leaders, Shawn started passing out hats and tshirts. The conversation in this line was all over the place but eventually we got through checking in, sat around for a little bit before boarding. The flight there was okay, not too much turbulance until the ending of the actual flight. Getting through customs in Cuba was so fast, I think I still have whiplash. But we got through and then Ron, our wonderful guide from The Urban Famer, was right there with us, coralling us, making sure we got to our magic Yellow School Bus and that no one was left at the airport.
The drive to our place of stay was slow but I enjoyed every minute of it. Most of it was along the ocean so who cared, right? Anyways, we drove from the airport and pulled up in front of The CERESE house. The locals call it Casa Del Carino. It was amazing! The house is beautiful outside and the people inside are even better.
| This is a picture of the guys in the house, including Ron and our driver Yoel |
Now, this post is going to have some of the bad things that happen--which weren't many because I was on cloud nine the whole time I was there. The first thing is was this one girl who tried her best to irritate me the whole time. I was quite proud of myself because I didn't freak and lay a smack down on her. I have no idea what her issue was, or who peed in her coffee but this chick was just irritating as all hell.
The second bad thing was I develop a heat rash on my neck and in the crook of both my arms, along my shoulders and shoulders. I freaked out, went tearing for Donald, flailing. "Donald!!!!!" He looked at me and go "now what's wrong sweetheart?" I couldn't speak, I simply point with one hand and flailed with the other hand. He looked at it, disappeared into his room and came back with a bottle of aloe. He told me not to worry because it was just from the heat and my skin is no longer used to being in such heat. I was not prepared to get heat rashes. I mean, shit I was born in Jamaica! Hell, I don't get even get this crap when I go back to Jamaica! So every day, I wake up praying it would go away because I know what was going to happen once they started drying up. They would turn white, flake, peel, start itching and then scar. That's just what I needed, more scars. The ones on my neck are almost gone without any much flaking or peeling. The ones on my arms are not so merciful. They are itching, flaking, peeling and going away Slllllooooowwwwlllyyy...ugh.
Hugs,
Kato
Wednesday, May 2, 2012
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)


